Rising Star Shields Wins First Barbagallo Race

CAMS Foundation Rising Star Cameron Shields has won his first 2017 CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship race today at Barbagallo Raceway.

In the category’s first visit to Barbagallo, Shields claimed the honour of being the first Australian Formula 4 driver to win a race at the circuit and the first CAMS Foundation Rising Star driver to win an Australian Formula 4 race.

“To finally come out on top, it’s certainly a good feeling. I’m really happy now, I’m the first ever F4 Rising Star to pick up a race win and now also the first to win a race at Barbagallo in a Formula 4 car as well,” Shields said.

“All I had to do was stick with [Rowe] and make sure I kept a gap within five-seconds to take out the win. I managed the tyres throughout the race and succeeded in doing that. So I took out my first Formula 4 win and I’m very happy!”


AGI Sport’s Nick Rowe started from pole position, but was judged to have jumped the start and received a five second post-race penalty. The West Australian crossed the line first but was then classified fourth.

“Mega car pace then, we were about three-tenths quicker than anyone. Just let go of the clutch a little bit too early! I thought I might have come to a stop but I didn’t, but oh well that’s life! I drove as hard as I could but I couldn’t get the gap,” Rowe said.

“Such a short lap here you really have to work hard. By the end of the first lap you’ve worn yourself out just trying to warm the tyres up, getting the clutch right, spinning the rears up just to get the right start. Got the right start, but I was just a schmick too fast!


Zagame Autosport’s Tyler Everingham secured an Australian Formula 4 career best finish of second place behind race winner Shields.

“Yeah it was an awesome race, I think I was the quickest in the last four laps. Really progressed with the pace,” Everingham said.

“I started with a pretty ordinary start but fortunately the car that was next to me didn’t get the best start either. More importantly, it’s awesome for our championship. We really have a chance of winning it now.”


New Zealander Liam Lawson rounded out the final podium placing in third, but felt there is still more to extract from his Team BRM machine.

“It’s a good result, but just like yesterday we’re still struggling slightly just that little bit that we’re off,” Lawson said.

Lawson and fellow teammate Josh Denton enjoyed a close encounter throughout the race, but Rowe’s penalty split the teammates in third and fifth respectively.

“Josh was really quick for the start of the race he was right on me and I had to fend him off a bit. We’ve got a few changes to make for the next race, but it was still a good result for championship points.”


JRD’s Jordan Mazzaroli will start tomorrow’s Race Two from pole position after finishing Race One in sixth – with the top six drivers in Race One to be reversed to establish the grid.

Fellow CAMS Foundation Rising Stars Simon Fallon and Ryan Suhle raced for seventh and eighth position respectively, with West Australian Aaron Love and Rising Star Zane Morse rounding out the final two points positions in ninth and tenth.

Two more races await the CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship racers, with Races Two and Three to commence from 9:50am and 4:05pm AWST on Sunday to be also televised on Fox Sports 506.


Race One Results
1st: Cameron Shields – Team BRM: 15:46.1691
2nd: Tyler Everingham – Zagame Autosport: +1.2834
3rd: Liam Lawson – Team BRM: +2.5011
4th: Nick Rowe – AGI Sport: +3.2510
5th: Josh Denton – Team BRM: +4.9075
6th: Jordan Mazzaroli – JRD: +10.8696
7th: Simon Fallon – Team BRM: +12.8984
8th: Ryan Suhle – Zagame Autosport: +13.8417
9th: Aaron Love – Team BRM: +14.1861
10th: Zane Morse – Team BRM: +16.8308
11th: Harley Haber – AGI Sport: +17.4874
12th: Sage Murdoch – AGI Sport: +24.0198
13th: Zak Best – AGI Sport: +53.4701