Nick Rowe Secures Third Pole of 2017

AGI Sport has secured its first front row lockout in CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship history today at Queensland Raceway.

Nick Rowe claimed his third pole position of the year, and $500 Virgin Australia flight credit voucher, with Newcastle driver Sage Murdoch enjoying his best result of the year in second place.

Armed with a brand new set of Hankook slicks and an air temperature of 27 degrees, the conditions promoted plenty of grip.


“That was awesome, I think that’s the first time AGI have ever locked out a front row. Mega drive, Sage [Murdoch] is catching up to me each time – starting to push harder and harder,” Rowe said.

“I was pretty surprised, the track was really quick and had a fair bit of grip out there.”


Murdoch was thrilled to put aside his recent streak of bad luck, which coincided with the AGI Sport driver switching from his idol, Lewis Hamilton’s, race number of #44 to #4.

“Yeah that’s definitely great to hear and see. P2 is great… after all of the bad luck, it feels good to get two red cars up there,” Murdoch said.

“It was really hot. The air temperature was warm, I thought that the car was going to overheat but it was good.”


Local Queensland driver Cameron Shields (Team BRM) will start tomorrow’s opening race from third on the grid, alongside Rowe’s nearest Championship rival of Liam Lawson (Team BRM).

“It is a good start for tomorrow off P3, on the podium so far, so hopefully we can keep that up,” Shields said.

“At this stage it’s very close between the whole field. Certainly going to be up for some interesting racing for the weekend.”

“It was pretty warm out there in that qualifying session. About 27 degrees out, nice and sunny here in Queensland. Certainly pretty physical in the car, lots of work and lots of sweat.”


Fellow CAMS Foundation Rising Star Ryan Suhle was the best placed Zagame Autosport car in fifth. The Queenslander will start tomorrow’s opening race from third on the grid alongside Zak Best (AGI Sport), who led the opening two practice sessions.

Eight-tenths of a second split the top ten qualifiers, with two 13 lap races on Saturday and a 13 lap finale on Sunday.

All three races of the CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship will be broadcast live on Fox Sports (506), supporting the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship coverage.


Provisional Qualifying Results
1. Nick Rowe – AGI Sport: 1:12.1158
2. Sage Murdoch – AGI Sport: +0.2234
3. Cameron Shields – Team BRM: +0.2459
4. Liam Lawson – Team BRM: +0.3675
5. Ryan Suhle – Zagame Autosport: +0.4761
6. Zak Best – AGI Sport: +0.5439
7. Zane Morse – Team BRM: +0.5514
8. Tyler Everingham – Zagame Autosport: +0.7074
9. Simon Fallon – Team BRM: +0.7265
10. Aaron Love – Team BRM: +0.8851
11. Jordan Mazzaroli – JRD: +1.4920