Cameron Shields Becomes Third Pole Winner

Team BRM’s Cameron Shields has become the third driver to claim pole position in the 2017 CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship.

In an extremely windy session at Sydney Motorsport Park on Friday, Shields edged championship rival Nick Rowe of AGI Sport who himself has claimed three poles this year.

“Absolutely stoked to take out the pole position… my first pole position for the year now and hopefully we can keep that on for the next round on the Gold Coast,” Shields said.

“It was a very short session for me. (I) went out there, did a couple of laps, and then made a little mistake there on the last turn. Ended up spinning off into the grass and missed the rest of the session and watched it on the sidelines.”


Shields only completed five laps in the session, after encountering that early session spin before the final corner but for the CAMS Foundation Rising Star, his 1:31.2207 was enough to secure pole for tomorrow’s opening race.

“I was certainly praying, stuck on the kerb and I knew if the red flag came out I’d lose the pole position. Ended up getting off thankfully and sat on the grass,” Shields said.

Fastest in this morning’s opening practice session, Rowe was three-tenths shy of Shields’ pole time. Encouragingly, his AGI Sport teammate Sage Murdoch qualified fourth for his home race.


“It was a bit hard, we gave it our best shot but we didn’t have it at the end of the day. Good job to Cameron, the boys over there [Team BRM] did a good job obviously,” Rowe said.

“To get second and fourth is a good job for AGI Sport. Hopefully in the race we can move forward and get a good jump.”

Zagame Autosport’s Tyler Everingham was the fastest New South Welshman, the Dubbo teenager will start from the second row in third position.


“I just tried to focus on getting a tow and getting the maximum from the tyre in the first laps. It was really good, really happy with the pace. We’re a fair bit off pole, hopefully my race pace is good,” Everingham said.

New Zealand’s Liam Lawson was the next best Team BRM piloted car in fifth place, leading a cotingent of competitive mid-field racers. Between Lawson in fifth and Aaron Love in twelfth, only 0.5s separated the eight drivers.

Twelve laps await the drivers on Saturday from 12:20pm, with all three races broadcast live on Fox Sports 506 as part of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship support coverage.

Provisional Qualifying Results
1. Cameron Shields – Team BRM: 1:31.2207
2. Nick Rowe – AGI Sport: +0.3658
3. Tyler Everingham – Zagame Autosport: +0.8267
4. Sage Murdoch – AGI Sport: +0.9161
5. Liam Lawson – Team BRM: +0.9229
6. Simon Fallon – Team BRM: +1.0099
7. Ryan Suhle – Zagame Autosport: +1.1196
8. Zak Best – AGI Sport: +1.1652
9. Harley Haber – AGI Sport: +1.823
10. Zane Morse – Team BRM: +1.4305
11. Jordan Mazzaroli – JRD: +1.4567
12. Aaron Love – Team BRM: +1.4667