Rowe On Song In Race Two

CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship leader Nick Rowe has won an action packed Race Two at Sydney Motorsport Park.

It was a frantic approaching heading towards turn one at the race start, with multiple cars making contact. Yesterday’s opening race winner Shields managed to re-join the track alongside Lawson.

However the likes of Haber, Murdoch, Love and Fallon sustained damage in the first turn melee and were unable to make the race restart on lap six.

Ryan Suhle and Rowe enjoyed a thrilling scrap for the race lead once the race resumed, with Rowe eventually passing the Zagame Autosport Rising Star to win the first of Sunday’s two races.

Shields had a meteoric climb back up the field after being at the back of the field on the safety car restart. The Team BRM driver enjoyed another spirited battle with Zagame Autosport’s Suhle to finish second behind Rowe.

Fellow Rising Star Zane Morse enjoyed a breakthrough race to finish fourth behind Suhle, after starting the race from the rear of the field. Morse climbed as high as third after passing Tyler Everingham on lap seven. Everingham crossed the line in fifth ahead of Lawson, who recovered to sixth.

JRD’s Jordan Mazzaroli was within podium contention before a spin just prior to the safety car restart, leaving the local New South Welshman content with eighth just behind AGI Sport’s Zak Best.

Rowe and Shields are evenly matched heading into this morning’s third race, with both drivers claiming a race win and second place finish each so far this weekend.

The third and final race is set to take place at 11:35am, broadcast live on Fox Sports 506.

Provisional Race Two Results
1. Nick Rowe – AGI Sport: 21:34.1157
2. Cameron Shields – Team BRM: +2.3644
3. Ryan Suhle – Zagame Autosport: +4.2024
4. Zane Morse – Team BRM: +4.9071
5. Tyler Everingham – Zagame Autosport: +5.2021
6. Liam Lawson – Team BRM: +5.6976
7. Zak Best – AGI Sport: +7.0187
8. Jordan Mazzaroli – JRD: +22.0088
DNF: Harley Haber – AGI Sport
DNF: Sage Murdoch – AGI Sport
DNF: Aaron Love – Team BRM
DNF: Simon Fallon – Team BRM