2018 CAMS Foundation Rising Star Applications Open

Applications have opened today for the 2018 CAMS Foundation Rising Star program.

Up to four young drivers will be selected for a $50,000 scholarship to be used in the 2018 CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship.

The CAMS Foundation, supported by Morris Finance, will consider positions for two karting graduates and two current circuit racing drivers.

“The CAMS Foundation Board is proud to continue the Rising Star program into 2018, having relaunched the program this year,” CAMS Foundation Director Mark Skaife said.

“It has been exciting to watch the progress of our current Rising Stars, and we look forward to nurturing another crop of young, ambitious Australian racing drivers next season.”

With four Rising Star positions available, a further eight CAMS Driver Development Scholarship Loans are also available for those who miss out on the Rising Star. Those who apply for the Rising Star will be automatically considered for the eight CAMS supported scholarships valued at $20,000.

The funding will be eligible for use within the 2018 CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship.

The CAMS Foundation Rising Star was relaunched for the 2017 season, with Australian Formula 4 drivers Cameron Shields, Ryan Suhle, Simon Fallon and Zane Morse representing the program.

Shields currently sits second in the overall standings, and Suhle leads the Burson Auto Parts Rookie of the Year class with one round remaining.

Applications close on Friday 3 November, 2017 at 5pm AEDT.

Further information and an application form is available to download by clicking the following link.

About CAMS Foundation

The aim of the CAMS Foundation is to identify and support talented young Australian drivers to successfully compete in National and International motor sport. 

Each CAMS Rising Star is provided with significant technical, physical and financial support over the period of a year; with their development being monitored and driven with the ultimate aim of progression within the global motor sport community.

CAMS Foundation alumni includes drivers across disciplines in rally, open wheel, sports car and touring cars. Such racers include Daniel Ricciardo, Will Power, Chris Atkinson, Molly Taylor, James Courtney, Will Davison, Scott Pye, Macauley Jones and Will Brown.