Round Seven: Gold Coast Preview

After 18 races across six rounds, the seventh and final round of the 2017 CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship will see a brand new champion crowned on the Gold Coast this weekend.

In what has been an exciting year for the category, we’ve seen seven race winners, three pole position and four round winners at venues around Australia.

AGI Sport’s Nick Rowe has led the back half of this year’s Championship and currently carries a 52 point lead over Team BRM’s Cameron Shields. A total of 75 points are on offer across the remaining three races.

Having led the first portion of this year’s championship race, New Zealander Liam Lawson is eager to claw back critical points on the Gold Coast with 30 separating he and Shields for the battle of runner up honours.


Zagame Autosport’s Ryan Suhle is most likely to claim Burson Auto Parts Rookie of the Year, currently in an impressive fourth place with 203 points. The CAMS Foundation Rising Star’s season has been typified with two pole positions and one race win.

Past round winners on the Gold Coast include Thomas Randle (2015) and Harry Hayek (2016).

The CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship will be the first category out on Friday morning, with two practice sessions on Friday followed by qualifying and three races across Saturday and Sunday.

Out of the drivers racing this weekend it is Nick Rowe, Tyler Everingham, Simon Fallon who have previous experience racing on the Gold Coast street circuit. Fallon, last year, enjoyed his first career race win and round podium at the venue.

Drivers, teams, sponsors and families will then celebrate the season that was at a gala dinner on Sunday evening, where crews will be awarded various prizes and honours. 2016 Champion Will Brown will be the evening’s guest of honour to welcome this year’s CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Champion.

Preparations are well underway for the 2018 season, with crews interested in participating invited to contact the Formula 4 teams directly or via CAMS Operations Manager David Corrigan ([email protected])


Qualifying and all three races will be televised live on Fox Sports 506 as part of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship’s support coverage.

Follow @Formula4AU on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube for on-the-ground coverage, including driver interviews throughout the weekend with the hashtag #F4AU.


Schedule (AEST)
Practice One: Friday 20 October, 8:40am (20 minutes)
Practice Two: Friday 20 October, 11:45am (20 minutes)
Qualifying: Friday 20 October, 2:50pm (20 minutes)
Race One: Saturday 21 October, 9:25am (11 laps)
Race Two: Saturday 21 October, 12:15pm (11 laps)
Race Three: Sunday 22 October, 10:40am (11 laps)
* Times were correct at the time of publication

Friday: Partly cloudy, 16/25
Saturday: Showers becoming windy, 17/23
Sunday: Shower or two, 15/23


Championship Points
1: Nick Rowe – AGI Sport: 320
2: Cameron Shields – Team BRM: 268
3: Liam Lawson – Team BRM: 238
4: Ryan Suhle – Zagame Autosport: 203
5: Tyler Everingham – Zagame Autosport: 172
6: Josh Denton – Team BRM: 106
7: Simon Fallon – Team BRM: 101
8: Zane Morse – Team BRM: 87
9: Aaron Love – Team BRM: 79
10: Zak Best – AGI Sport: 73
11: Jordan Mazzaroli – JRD: 66
12: Sage Murdoch – AGI Sport: 55
13: Harley Haber – AGI Sport: 40


2017 Statistics
Pole Positions: (6/7 rounds)
Nick Rowe (3), Ryan Suhle (2), Cameron Shields (1)

Race Winners: (7/13 drivers) (18/21 races)
Nick Rowe (7), Cameron Shields (4), Liam Lawson (3), Josh Denton (1), Ryan Suhle (1), Tyler Everingham (1), Simon Fallon (1)

Race Podiums (excl. race wins) (9/13 drivers) (18/21 races)
Cameron Shields (8), Liam Lawson (7), Ryan Suhle (7), Nick Rowe (6), Tyler Everingham (4), Aaron Love (1), Josh Denton (1), Zane Morse (1), Sage Murdoch (1)

Overall Round Wins (6/7 rounds) (4/13 drivers)
Nick Rowe (3), Liam Lawson (1), Cameron Shields (1), Simon Fallon (1)

Overall Round Podiums (excl. round wins) (6/7 rounds) (6/13 drivers)
Cameron Shields (4), Nick Rowe (2), Ryan Suhle (2), Tyler Everingham (2), Liam Lawson (1), Josh Denton (1)


Previous Winners – Gold Coast, Surfers Paradise
Pole Position: Thomas Randle (2015), Will Brown (2016)
Race Winners: Thomas Randle (3), Will Brown (1), Simon Fallon (1), Harry Hayek (1)
Round Winners: Thomas Randle (2015), Harry Hayek (2016)
2016 Pole Lap: Will Brown – Team BRM: 1:17.2389
Race Lap Record: Will Brown – Team BRM: 1:16.8732
Fastest Average Lap Speed: 140kph


Entry List
#4 – Sage Murdoch (NSW) (R)
AGI Sport

#5 – Ryan Suhle (QLD) (R)
Zagame Autosport
Ray White/CAMS Foundation Rising Star

#7 – Tyler Everingham (NSW)
Zagame Autosport

#11 – Zane Morse (ACT) (R)
Team BRM
Charman Earthmoving/CAMS Foundation Rising Star

#27 – Simon Fallon (VIC)
Team BRM
CoolDrive/Fallon Developments/CAMS Foundation Rising Star

#30 – Liam Lawson (NZ)
Team BRM

#61 – Jordan Mazzaroli (NSW) (R)
Real Equity Estate Agents/Mr Moto

#73 – Cameron Shields (QLD)
Team BRM
McDonald’s Australia/Dependable Sheds/CAMS Foundation Rising Star 

#76 – Zakkary Best (VIC)
AGI Sport
Best Leisure Industries

#78 – Aaron Love (WA) (R)
Team BRM

#97 – Nick Rowe (WA)
AGI Sport
Australian Unity/SCT Logistics/AGI Sport