Lawson Wins Gold Coast Opener, Rowe Wins Season

AGI Sport’s Nick Rowe is the 2017 CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Champion-elect, after finishing third in today’s opening race on the Gold Coast in wet conditions.

Runner-up in last year’s championship, the West Australian from Karratha was overwhelmed with emotion after finally realising his achievement.

“I was counting down the laps every time and once it got to two laps to go, they’ve come over the radio down the back straight there and they said it was the last lap… I just couldn’t hold myself together, I started balling my eyes out,” Rowe said.

“Finished the job off and let the emotions flow. It was one of the best feelings I’ve ever had in my life. We’ve worked so hard all year to get to this point.”


Starting from pole position, Rowe only had to finish ahead of his nearest rival Cameron Shields to clinch the title with two races remaining this weekend. Front row starter Simon Fallon led the race in the introductory laps, but New Zealander Liam Lawson won the 10 lap race by 2.8 seconds over Fallon. West Australian Aaron Love enjoyed a competitive showing in fourth place.

It was a sense of déjà vu for Zagame Autosport, with Ryan Suhle also becoming mildly airborne at the Beach Chicane – a less dramatic carbon copy of teammate Tyler Everingham’s efforts in qualifying yesterday. Suhle, Everingham and Luis Leeds finished in unison for Zagame in fifth, sixth and seventh places.

Shields made a rare error by running through the escape road in the final stages of the race. While no damage was done to the car, it all but ruled out Shields for a last minute gasp at championship honours.

JRD’s Jordan Mazzaroli claimed the final remaining point of the race to finish tenth, with Zakkary Best and Zane Morse only a few more seconds up the road.

After a difficult qualifying for Sage Murdoch and his AGI Sport crew yesterday, Race One was no improvement with the Novocastrian the only driver not to finish.

Race Two will commence at 12:15pm AEST, with Race Three to commence on Sunday.


Provisional Race One Results
1. Liam Lawson – Team BRM
2. Simon Fallon – Team BRM: +2.8459
3. Nick Rowe – AGI Sport: +5.1922
4. Aaron Love – Team BRM: +7.6120
5. Ryan Suhle – Zagame Autosport: +35.6786
6. Tyler Everingham – Zagame Autosport: +39.3466
7. Luis Leeds – Zagame Autosport: +40.5470
8. Zane Morse – Team BRM: +43.8818
9. Zakkary Best – AGI Sport: +48.8630
10. Jordan Mazzaroli – JRD: +52.2251
11. Cameron Shields – Team BRM: +57.8261
DNF: Sage Murdoch – AGI Sport