Nick Rowe Carries On Winning

2017 CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Champion-elect Nick Rowe has won today’s second race in treacherous conditions on the Gold Coast.

Without his championship secured, Rowe enjoyed a spirited drive to finish 7.6 seconds ahead of Team BRM’s Zane Morse.


However it was Simon Fallon who got the jump on Rowe and led much of the race, with times largely identical between the pair. However a brush with the wall in the final two laps caused major damage to the front corner of his Team BRM car. Teammate Cameron Shields had a similar impact barely a lap later.

“I was really commiting as much as I could but I couldn’t catch Fallon. I think I closed the gap to about half a second… unfortunately for him he was having a good run and he accidentally hit the wall. I was just there to reap the rewards, I guess you’ve got to finish to win,” Rowe said.

“Coming third in that first race was one of the best experiences of my life – even though coming third’s not that great but to get the championship was unbelievable. To be able to go out there and not think about it too much, just worry about what you’ve got to do is a good feeling.”


Zagame Autosport’s Ryan Suhle just edged ahead of Race One winner Liam Lawson for the final spot on the podium. Suhle’s teammate Tyler Everingham was a further few seconds behind the pair to round out the top five.

“It was wild enough in the dry and the wet’s just made it a whole lot worse! It’s still super fun and I’ve enjoyed every lap I’ve done this weekend,” Suhle said.

AGI Sport’s Zakkary Best and JRD’s Jordan Mazzaroli had the closest finishing margin of the field, with 0.26 seconds separating the pair at the chequered flag.

The final race of the 2017 CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship will take place at 10:40am on the Gold Coast, televised live on Fox Sports 506.


Provisional Race Two Results
1. Nick Rowe – AGI Sport
2. Zane Morse – Team BRM: +7.6757
3. Ryan Suhle – Zagame Autosport: +15.8237
4. Liam Lawson – Team BRM: +17.2437
5. Tyler Everingham – Zagame Autosport: +19.7646
6. Zakkary Best – AGI Sport: +35.6902
7. Jordan Mazzaroli – JRD: +35.9585
8. Sage Murdoch – AGI Sport: +1:07.3322
DNF: Cameron Shields – Team BRM
DNF: Simon Fallon – Team BRM
DNF: Aaron Love – Team BRM
DNF: Luis Leeds – Zagame Autosport