Thanks From The Drivers and Teams

With the 2017 CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship season run and won, drivers have reflected and given thanks to those who helped them go racing this year on social media.

2017 Champion Nick Rowe paid a heartfelt tribute to his supporters, team and colleagues. His focus next shifts to his test with Brad Jones Racing at an evaluation day this December.

Victorian Zakkary Best also joined in AGI Sport’s Sunday celebrations, completing his first season in Australian Formula 4 with the Sydney squad.

Second to Rowe for the round and championship was a handy result for young New Zealander Liam Lawson, who was third in the standings prior to the Gold Coast.

The Gold Coast was only one of two venues Team BRM’s Cameron Shields had not previously raced on. Whilst it was a difficult initiation to the street circuit, Shields ended the year as top CAMS Foundation Rising Star of 2017 and carried on the tradition of Toowoomba drivers featuring inside the top three of the Australian Formula 4 Championship.

Jordan Mazzaroli of JRD also gave thanks to those who helped him develop as a driver and a person throughout 2017.

Ryan Suhle joined the likes of Will Brown and Simon Fallon as the 2017 Burson Auto Parts Rookie of the Year. The Queenslander had an unassailable lead prior to the Gold Coast, and his consistency this season was duly rewarded with fourth in the overall standings in his rookie season with Zagame Autosport.

Formula Renault Eurocup racer Luis Leeds made a one-off return to the CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship, having last competing at the venue in 2015. A fourth place finish on Sunday was the young Victorian’s best result for the weekend with Zagame Autosport.

Tyler Everingham was an internet sensation after Friday qualifying. His aerobatic skills drew plenty of attention, and gasps, but the young Dubbo driver had an impressive 2017 season. Podiums and a race win were some of the highlights in his second season, and Zagame Autosport’s first, in Australian Formula 4.

Team BRM meanwhile thanked their cast of drivers in 2017, and though missing out on a third-consecutive championship, second and third placings were strong results for the South Australian squad.

It wasn’t the ending JRD had hoped for on the Gold Coast in their second season, but the Victorian squad now turn their attention to 2018.

AGI Sport savoured the spoils in 2017, in a breakthrough season that saw the team collect four out of seven round wins and pole positions.

Though it was CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship graduate Harry Hayek who summed it up the best.

Life is about moments. Create them. Don’t wait for them 🤓 #GC600 #2K17 #GOODVIBESONLY

A post shared by Harry Hayek (@harry_hayek) on