Formula 4 Sticks With Hankook

Hankook will remain the control tyre supplier for the CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship, extending its deal through to the end of 2020.

As an added bonus to competitors, the winning driver of each round will receive a free set of tyres for their next round in 2018.

A ‘Team of the Round’ award, proudly supported by Hankook, will also be introduced, with the champion squad to be awarded with the end of season ‘Hankook Team of the Year’ award.

Hankook has been a strong supporter of the Australian Formula 4 Championship, having been one of the foundation sponsors and suppliers since its debut season in 2015.

Hankook Tyre Australia’s PR & Motorsport Manager, Ryan Bestulic, said the company is proud to continue to play a part in the development of aspiring professional race drivers.

“We’ve been pleased with the level of racing over the last three seasons and the reliability they have shown across a variety of circuits in Australia,” Bestulic said.

“We have an excellent worldwide motor sport footprint that supports junior categories who are working their way up the professional ladder and the Australian F4 Championship has been an integral part of that strategy.”

Hankook’s reaffirmation as the control tyre supplier provides further stability to the Championship, with the recent announcement that the current generation chassis will race through 2023.

The durability of the super-soft compound slick, coupled with its ability to quickly build up grip, has been its strongest characteristic.

A new set of tyres are available for each car per round for qualifying and three races, with used race tyres utilised in practice.

CAMS General Manager of Motor Sport Michael Smith said it was important to provide stability in regulations and control component supply.

“The feedback we have received over the last few years on the Hankook tyre made the decision to continue our association an easy one,” Smith said.

“We’ve toured many circuits across Australia and the data and experience that comes with it is important to our teams. We hope to continue the category’s growth as we enjoy stability with our model.”

The 2018 CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship calendar was confirmed yesterday, with New Zealand to conclude the season for the first time in championship history.

Australia is one of four championships to have Hankook as their control tyre supplier, with the British, South East Asian and United Arab Emirates Formula 4 Championships also running on Hankook rubber.