Formula Awards

A host of Formula 4 drivers, past and present, have been recognised at the recent 2017 CAMS National Motor Sport Awards.

2016 CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Champion Will Brown became the latest recipient of the Peter Brock Medal, which recognises outstanding driver ability and sportsmanship.

Brown joins an impressive list which includes the likes of Jason Richards, Craig Lowndes, Neal Bates, Jim Richards, Molly Taylor and Mark Webber as medallists.

“It was pretty cool to step up from the Formula 4 Championship into the tin-tops – [2017] was a great year,” Brown said.

“We were able to clinch a couple of top threes and come ninth in the championship… but it was a great first round and championship, and I’m really looking forward to this year.”

The Peter Brock Medal was in recognition of his standout rookie season in the Super2 Series last year, where Brown also received the Mike Kable Young Gun Award from Supercars.

Alongside his Super2 campaign, Brown will also pilot an Erebus Motorsport Commodore in Supercars’ Enduro Cup at Sandown, Bathurst and the Gold Coast.

John Harnden AM, Chairman of the Australian Grand Prix Corporation, presents Nick Rowe with his 2017 CAMS Australian Formula 4 Championship trophy.

Also celebrated at the CAMS National Awards was Nick Rowe’s 2017 Championship, where he was formally presented with the championship’s perpetual trophy.

“Yeah it’s finally sunk in. It’s good feeling to be an Australian Champion after everything,” Rowe said.

“Hopefully we can be somewhere, even if it’s just driving a production sedan for the rest of my life I’d be stoked. But we’ll just keep trucking on and hopefully one day I can be a champion somewhere again.”

Cameron Shields, CAMS Young Driver of the Year, with Andrew Fraser MP, Member for Coffs Harbour.

Third in last year’s Australian Formula 4 Championship, Cameron Shields was awarded the CAMS Young Driver of the Year award. Past recipients include Joey Mawson and Anton de Pasquale.

“What an amazing night and a huge honour to receive the Australian Young Driver of the Year Award. Thank you to everyone involved in the 2017 season,” Shields said.