Four Seasons of Formula 4

The CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship returns to competition this weekend, with the opening round to take place at Tasmania’s Symmons Plains.

Supporting the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, the category returns to the Apple Isle for the first time since it hosted 2016’s season opener.

Plenty of new faces, and even a new team, will join the 2018 Championship – in what will be Formula 4’s fourth season in Australia.

Leading Australian kart squad Patrizicorse will make their debut in the championship, with fellow debutant driver Jackson Walls in the Objective Racing backed Formula 4.

AGI Sport welcome Jayden Ojeda and 2017 Burson Auto Parts Rookie of the Year Ryan Suhle to their line-up, as they seek to repeat Nick Rowe’s success from last season.

Team BRM are armed with a mammoth six car entry, as the dual-championship winning squad aims to reclaim the title. The South Australian squad sees Aaron Love and Cameron Shields return for a second season as their senior drivers.

CAMS Foundation Rising Star karting graduates Josh Smith and Lochie Hughes join Thomas Smith and Zayd Tones as the squad’s newest recruits.

KZ2 karter Antonio Astuti also joins the field as one of six recent karting graduates in an Astuti Motorsport prepared Formula 4.

Crews will turn their first laps on Friday morning, with two practice sessions before qualifying and three races on Saturday and Sunday.

2018 CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship – Round 1 Entry List
Symmons Plains, Tasmania
#5 – Ryan Suhle – AGI Sport – CAMS Rising Star/Ray White
#11 – Jackson Walls – Patrizicorse – Objective Racing
#12 – Josh Smith – Team BRM – CAMS Rising Star
#15 – Lochie Hughes – Team BRM – CAMS Rising Star
#16 – Thomas Smith – Team BRM – SCT Logistics
#27 – Zayd Tones – Team BRM
#31 – Jayden Ojeda – AGI Sport – Engine Sensors Australia
#38 – Antonio Astuti – Astuti Motorsport
#73 – Cameron Shields – Team BRM – McDonald’s Australia
#78 – Aaron Love – Team BRM – Coco’s

Television: Practice Two, qualifying and all three races live on Fox Sports 506
Social media: @Formula4AU on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram via the hashtag #F4AU
Emoji of the round: 🏎🍏 Race car & green apple

Schedule (AEST)
Practice One: 9:30am (20 minutes) – Friday 6 April
Practice Two: 1:00pm (20 minutes) – Friday 6 April
Qualifying: 10:30am (20 minutes) – Saturday 7 April
Race One: 2:25pm (18 laps) – Saturday 7 April
Race Two: 10:30am (18 laps) – Sunday 8 April
Race Three: 3:55pm (18 laps) – Sunday 8 April
* Times were correct at the time of publication 

Weather Forecast
Friday 6 April: Possible shower – 10°/20°
Saturday 7 April: Shower or two – 9°/19°
Sunday 8 April: Shower or two – 12°/21°

Past Results at Symmons Plains (2016)
Pole: Will Brown – Team BRM – 0:56.3471
Race Winners: Jordan Love (2), Brenton Grove (1)
Round Winner: Will Brown
Race Lap Record: Will Brown – 0:56.3851

All time stats
Pole Positions:
Nick Rowe (6), Thomas Randle (4), Jordan Lloyd (3),
Will Brown (2), Ryan Suhle (1), Jordan Love (1),
Harry Hayek (1), Cameron Shields (1)

Round Winners:
Nick Rowe (5), Jordan Lloyd (4), Thomas Randle (3),
Harry Hayek (2), Will Brown (2), Jordan Love (1),
Cameron Shields (1), Liam Lawson (1), Simon Fallon (1)

Race Winners:
Jordan Lloyd (12), Nick Rowe (10), Thomas Randle (7),
Will Brown (7), Liam Lawson (5),  Jordan Love (4),
Cameron Shields (3), Harry Hayek (3), Josh Denton (2),
Brenton Grove (1), Luis Leeds (1), Simon Fallon (2),
Ryan Suhle (1), Tyler Everingham (1)

Graduates So Far:
Super2 Series: Will Brown, Thomas Randle, Zane Goddard, Brenton Grove, Jack Smith
V8 Touring Car Series: Tyler Everingham
Porsche Carrera Cup: Jordan Love
Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge: Luis Leeds, Jimmy Vernon, Simon Fallon
Australian Prototype Series: Sage Murdoch
German Formula 4: Liam Lawson