Season Four: The Returning Circuits

The CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship recently celebrated its 21st, round that is, at Symmons Plains Raceway for the beginning of the fourth season of the championship.

Tasmania’s Symmons Plains has now hosted the season opener twice, in 2016 and 2018.

Toowoomba drivers have had a stranglehold on the circuit, with both Will Brown and Cameron Shields claiming round honours in recent times.

Victoria’s Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit is arguably a universal favourite of the Formula 4 field. The fast, flowing corners – especially the flat out Turn One –often provides some of the most dramatic racing of a season.

Team BRM have won all three rounds since 2015, with Jordan Lloyd, Jordan Love and Simon Fallon all victorious at the venue.

Phillip Island is next on the CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship calendar on 1–3 June as part of the Shannons Nationals weekend.

Queensland Raceway will make for a welcome appearance for crews at the end of July, given the cold start to the championship in the southern states.

It has also hosted three rounds of Australian Formula 4 to date, with its fourth to be held this year supporting the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship.

Queenslanders have had somewhat limited success at the venue, with Jordan Lloyd the only local driver to date to have claimed round honours in 2015 – which was the championship’s second ever round.

Popular New South Welshman Harry Hayek secured a first round win in 2016, followed by West Australian Nick Rowe in 2017.

Sydney Motorsport Park is also a popular venue for thrilling racing, with Thomas Randle and Jordan Lloyd asserting their authority as championship favourites in 2015. A thrilling wheel-to-wheel battle in the wet was one of the first ‘highlight reel’ moments in the championship.

AGI Sport broke through in 2016 to claim their first-round win with Nick Rowe, who then became the first back-to-back round winner in the championship’s history last year.

The championship will formally clock up 27 rounds by the time we reach November’s season finale at Pukekohe.

That round will not only be the first round at Pukekohe, but also the first time a round of Australian Formula 4 will race overseas in neighbouring New Zealand.