Season Four: Former Circuits

By the time the 2018 CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship reaches its season finale in New Zealand, the category will have visited 11 circuits across Australia and New Zealand.

It was the Queensland street circuit of Townsville that holds the honour of hosting the very first round of the CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship back in July 2015.

Queensland’s own Will Brown claimed the honour for he and AGI Sport of being the very first race winners on the circuit, but it was fellow Queensland racer Jordan Lloyd of Team BRM who took the spoils for the weekend.

Both drivers would eventually become Australian Formula 4 Champions in 2016 and 2015 respectively.

Despite being absent from this year’s calendar, Sandown Raceway has hosted four rounds of Australian Formula 4 since 2015.

Last year saw the first double-round held at the venue, with a mammoth six races and two qualifying sessions facing crews in 2017.

This year’s double-round will be hosted at another Victorian circuit, Winton Raceway. Though it is commonly used as a test track by the teams, it is the first time it will host a round of Australian Formula 4.

Winton was also the first location where the current specification Australian Formula 4 cut its very first shakedown laps.

Previously the home of the Indy 300 where the mighty North American CART, ChampCar and IndyCar Series roared around the streets of the Gold Coast, Formula 4’s youngsters experienced the thrill of the treacherous street circuit.

It has hosted the last two season finales, seeing the likes of Will Brown and Nick Rowe clinch their respective championships.

Australian Formula 4 has since visited the far west and east of the nation, after last year making its first appearance across the Nullabor in Western Australia.

The short Barbagallo circuit proved to be a hit in 2017, with Cameron Shields then claiming his first Australian Formula 4 round win.

Although one circuit that Australian Formula 4 will certainly no longer visit is the now defunct Homebush street circuit in Sydney.

The venue hosted the first season finale in 2015, where Jordan Lloyd was granted permission to adorn the #1 on his car having clinched it prior to the round.

Thomas Randle dominated the weekend, upholding his reputation as a street master in the 2015 championship.

Homebush was formally decommissioned at the end of the 2016 Supercars Championship season.

Though in 2018, Australian Formula 4 will have its third different season ending round with Pukekohe succeeding Homebush and the Gold Coast as the season closer in November.