Race Rewind: Townsville 2015

The Townsville street circuit holds a special place in the history of the CAMS PAYCE Australian Formula 4 Championship – the host of the very first round in the championship’s history in 2015.

It was fitting that Queenslanders dominated the weekend, with two eventual Australian Formula 4 Champions in Will Brown and Jordan Lloyd claiming race wins. The former won the round and eventual the championship.

“This first round of Formula 4 will definitely go down in the history books,” said Lloyd at the time of his victory.

“I have just got to see if I can keep the championship lead now. The field is very competitive, even the younger guys in the field are very close to the more experienced drivers in the field so it’s very good.”

Another eventual champion in Nick Rowe also made a spectacular debut in the championship, arriving at the very last minute on Thursday to make a start with AGI Sport in what was, and still is, the Formula 4 display car.

Rowe was second for the round in Townsville behind Lloyd, with two podiums in the opening two races.

While it won’t be visiting Townsville this year, the 2018 CAMS PAYCE Australian Formula 4 Championship will next visit Queensland Raceway on 20–22 July as part of the Virgin Australia Supercars round.