First back-to-back Castrol pole of 2018

After claiming pole position in the previous round at Phillip Island, AGI Sport’s Jayden Ojeda has repeated the feat today at Queensland Raceway to claim his second Castrol Pole Position of 2018.

“I’m just happy I was able to provide the goods, the AGI boys did their job and gave me a great car,” Ojeda said.

“It’s great to have that momentum going into race one today. Only marginally against Cameron, it was close up the top and hopefully it’ll be a close opening race.”

Fastest in both Friday practice sessions, Ojeda narrowly secured pole with CAMS PAYCE Australian Formula 4 Championship leader Cameron Shields within 0.0385 seconds of Ojeda’s pole time.

“That was a very close session,” Shields said.

“Towards the end I found Jayden, we tagged around for a while but we didn’t go faster neither of us. It was good to see where he was quicker, and where I was quicker, ahead of the race.

“We’ll make some changes now and hopefully we’ll turn that second into a first.”

Ojeda’s teammate Ryan Suhle will start this afternoon’s opening race from the second row of the grid, alongside podium regular Aaron Love.

Team BRM’s Zayd Tones was the quickest Burson Auto Parts Rookie, ahead of that class’ leader Lochie Hughes – who qualified alongside Tones for sixth place.

Thirteen laps next await the field at 12:50pm for the first points of the weekend, with the session to be televised live on Fox Sports (506) as part of the Ipswich SuperSprint support coverage.

Castrol Pole Position Results

  1. Jayden Ojeda – AGI Sport 1:11.6242
  2. Cameron Shields – Team BRM +0.0385
  3. Ryan Suhle – AGI Sport +0.2929
  4. Aaron Love – Team BRM +0.3204
  5. Zayd Tones – Team BRM +1.1480
  6. Lochie Hughes – Team BRM +1.1493
  7. Jackson Walls – Patrizicorse +1.3287
  8. Josh Smith – Team BRM +1.5912
  9. Thomas Smith – Team BRM +1.9686
  10. Ardie Jonic – AGI Sport +2.0100