New championship order

AGI Sport’s Jayden Ojeda now leads the CAMS PAYCE Australian Formula 4 Championship standings after victory in Saturday’s opening race at Queensland Raceway.

The New South Welshman, who today also secured back-to-back Castrol Pole Position awards, won by more than a second over Team BRM’s Cameron Shields.

“The car was really good, it just kept getting better,” Ojeda said.

“I set my fastest lap on the last lap, so the boys did their job once again and gave me an awesome car. I was happy to be able to provide the goods once again.

It’s an impressive streak by the AGI Sport driver, who has been the fastest driver in every session since the Castrol Pole Position battle at Phillip Island last month.

“Let’s keep the streak going – that’s four race wins in a row – and hopefully we carry this on to Sunday,” Ojeda said.

It was a calm race for the current trio of championship contenders, including Ryan Suhle, who were pleased to walk away with cars intact and a healthy collection of points.

Ojeda now leads the championship with 127 points, over Shields’ 122 and Suhle’s 118.

“Second’s still a really good result to bank for the championship points, but now we’ve just got to hope we can turn some things around in the final two races,” Shields said.

“I had one race win here last year, hopefully this year we can do that again.”

In the battle of the Burson Auto Parts rookies, it was a thrilling chase between Lochie Hughes and Zayd Tones for fifth and sixth place respectively. The duo were only separated by nearly half a second after 13 laps of racing.

Hughes will start tomorrow’s second race from pole position by virtue of the reverse top five grid.

“I just held fifth the whole race, but I tried to stay with the frontrunners,” Hughes said.

“It’s a bit hard with the aero wash though, so once they pulled away I thought I’d back off a little, save the tyres and concentrate on the reverse grid tomorrow.”

Thomas Smith and Ardie Jonic had an opening lap coming together, that saw the pair take home the final points paying positions in ninth and tenth respectively.

Sunday’s action will see two more 13 lap encounters from 11:25am and 3:55pm AEST, with both races to be televised live on Fox Sports (506) as part of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship support coverage.

Provisional Race One Results

  1. Jayden Ojeda – AGI Sport
  2. Cameron Shields – Team BRM +1.1254
  3. Ryan Suhle – AGI Sport +3.4006
  4. Aaron Love – Team BRM +8.0126
  5. Lochie Hughes – Team BRM +14.3680
  6. Zayd Tones – Team BRM +14.8354
  7. Jackson Walls – Patrizicorse +17.8039
  8. Josh Smith – Team BRM +18.3832
  9. Ardie Jonic – AGI Sport +37.2601
  10. Thomas Smith – Team BRM +38.2575