Everingham claims V8 Touring Car title

Teenager Tyler Everingham has sealed the 2018 Australian V8 Touring Car National Series after storming home to an impressive final round victory at The Bend.

The former CAMS PAYCE Australian Formula 4 Championship driver claimed a round clean sweep, picking up three wins from all three races at the Adelaide based circuit, giving him and his team, MW Motorsport, their maiden Kumho Series title.

It was an all but easy series victory for Everingham, who battled hard with his MW Motorsport teammate Zak Best all year, the round win securing a 33 point outright victory.

“It’s a massive feeling of relief,” the 17-year-old said.

“It has been a really competitive year and the battle with Zak has been really tight since the opening round.

“It has been very tense this weekend but fortunately the weekend fell together for us to get the championship.

“To have a major national series under my belt is fantastic. It was my first year in a Supercar, against much more experienced guys, its been a great learning experience and I’m hoping to progress to the next level, Super 2, with the Matt White Motorsport guys.”

While the New South Welshman managed to win the weekend’s first two races without trouble, the final race started off with drama when he made contact with Jon McCorkindale just before turn one to drop to fourth.

Another clash between the two later on saw Everingham ‘s steering bend, before a safety car was called out, bringing the field together and allowing Everingham another opportunity at McCorkindale.

On the restart, Everingham scrapped his way past McCorkindale to land first place, which he held onto for the remainder of the race to secure the title in the process.

Finishing second in the round outright was Jack Smith, while Best’s frantic final round race saw him fall to seventh before recovering to finish third in the race and the round outright.

Behind the wheel of a Ford Falcon, Everingham’s win marks the first time the manufacturer has won the series since 2013, taking it past Holden to make it 6-5 in the titles victories ledger.

McCorkindale’s fourth outright in the round was enough to land him third overall in the series, while Smith finished in fourth outright and Jim Pollicina rounded out the top five.

Other titles within the series saw Matt Stone Racing’s Bradley Neill awarded the ‘Most Improved’ and Andy Cantrell win the Heritage Cup, behind the wheel of his ex-GSR EL Falcon, the oldest car on the grid.

Click here for more information on the 2018 Kumho Tyre Australian V8 Touring Car National Series.