Suhle Holds Castrol Pole Position Record for 2018

AGI Sport’s Ryan Suhle has claimed the final Castrol Pole Position of 2018, quickest in Saturday’s qualifying session at Pukekohe in New Zealand.

In a strong showing throughout the back half of this season, Suhle has now claimed the most number of poles this season with three to his name – with previous pole positions at Winton and Sydney Motorsport Park.

It was the narrowest of margins though that saw Suhle secure pole, with championship leader Jayden Ojeda only 0.07 seconds adrift of his teammate.

“That’s fantastic. Coming here to Pukekohe for the first time, I’ve got the only pole here for all time,” Suhle said.

“To get three out of the four last rounds has been fantastic. I’ve found a bit of car speed in the last couple of rounds, so excited to see what we can do in the race.”

With patches of drizzle arriving during qualifying, Ojeda came unstuck mid-session and found the wall at turn four. His AGI Sport team were able to swiftly change the front wing in pit lane, with Ojeda’s time quick enough to ensure he will start Sunday’s third and final race from pole position.

“We had a little bit of a moment which resulted in the front wing damage, so that was a bit unfortunate but the boys did an awesome job to change the front wing pretty quick,” Ojeda said.

“We managed to get a few laps at the end, pretty happy to recover to P2 considering where we could have ended up.”

Patrizicorse’s Jackson Walls enjoyed his best qualifying performance of this season, placing in third and only half a second off the front row.

“Definitely tricky conditions considering nobody knew what was going to happen with the rain. Luckily I bagged a lap in after the pit stop, so I just got a good time in,” Walls said.

“Hopefully it stays dry, I really want it to stay dry because everyone’s the same if it’s dry. It’ll be different if it’s wet.”

Team BRM’s Josh Smith also impressed to start alongside Walls on the front row, starting this afternoon’s opening race from fourth.

“I’m pretty happy with that, it’s my personal best and it’s the last one for the year. It’s gone pretty quick, starting fourth I’ll hopefully get some results. It’s taken me until the last round but better late than never,” Smith said.

Burson Auto Parts Rookie leader Lochie Hughes qualified fifth ahead of teammate Aaron Love. Antonio Astuti, Zayd Tones, Thomas Smith and Ardie Jonic rounded out the top ten.

Race One for the CAMS PAYCE Australian Formula 4 Championship will commence at 12:30pm NZDT, with 12 laps live on Fox Sports Australia and Sky Sport New Zealand.

Castrol Pole Position – Pukekohe, New Zealand
1️⃣ Suhle 1:06.9613
2️⃣ Ojeda +0.0760
3️⃣ Walls +0.5295
4️⃣ J. Smith +0.5688
5️⃣ Hughes +0.5905
6️⃣ Love +0.8133
7️⃣ Astuti +1.0151
8️⃣ Tones +1.1335
9️⃣ T. Smith +1.1720
🔟 Jonic +1.455