Jackson Walls Becomes Youngest TRS Racer

After an impressive debut season in the 2018 CAMS PAYCE Australian Formula 4 Championship, Jackson Walls is the latest driver to confirm his start in the Castrol Toyota Racing Series this summer.

The Sydney-sider will be the youngest driver in the series, celebrating his 16thbirthday the day prior to the series’ second round at Teretonga Park. With FIA and TRS rules stipulating a minimum driver age of 16, Walls is therefore ineligible for the series opener at Highlands.

Walls has good memories of his last visit to New Zealand, with Formula 4 recently completing its final round of 2018 at Pukekohe.

“There’s going to be plenty to learn as I have only raced in New Zealand at Pukekohe when we visited at the end of the season for the [Formula 4] round,” Walls said.

“The car looks fantastic and the series obviously does attract a significant selection of high quality drivers, so there will be a great deal that I can learn from the experience.

“I’ll obviously be looking to make my mark though, to be competitive and to deploy what I can from my experience in Formula 4. It’s going to be an exciting few weeks.”

Walls placed sixth in the Australian Formula 4 Championship, partnered with fellow debutant team Patrizicorse, and was the runner-up in the Burson Auto Parts Rookie class standings.

“Formula 4 has definitely helped me with the transition to TRS as the cars are pretty similar,” Walls said.

“It isn’t a huge step in horsepower, but it definitely will be something to get used to and I’m super keen for the series.”

Walls, entered with mtec Motorsport, now joins fellow Australian Formula 4 racers Thomas Smith and Liam Lawson as confirmed starters in the summer series.

2018 Champion Jayden Ojeda also this week completed test laps aboard the FT-50 at Highlands, as part of the many prizes awarded for his Australian Formula 4 title success.

Highlands Motorsport Park will host the first round of 2019 on January 12–13. Two rounds will take place on New Zealand’s South Island and three more on the North Island. The series concludes with the prestigious New Zealand Grand Prix at Manfeild Circuit Chris Amon in February, one of only two races outside of F1 officially recognised by the FIA as a Grand Prix.

2019 Castrol Toyota Racing Series Calendar
January 12-13 – Dorothy Smith Memorial Cup – Highlands Motorsport Park, Cromwell
January 19-20 – Spirit Of A Nation Trophy – Teretonga Park, Invercargill
January 26-27 – NZ Motor Cup – Hampton Downs Motorsport Park, Waikato
February 2-3 – Denny Hulme Trophy – Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park, Taupo
February 9-10 – New Zealand Grand Prix – Manfeild Circuit Chris Amon, Feilding