Aussies Shine In W-Series Qualifying

2015 CAMS Australian Formula 4 driver Caitlin Wood and Alexandra Whitley have progressed through to the next round of W-Series qualifying after a successful weekend in Austria.

With 54 women from around the world all-vying for to the next stage, Whitley and Wood were two of the 28 shortlisted drivers while other Australian hopes Charlotte Poynting and Chelsea Angelo were among those to unfortunately miss out.

The qualifying kicked off on Friday morning local time, with the applicants put through 10 different assessments across the weekend which included on-track testing in road cars, media examinations and fitness training.

Following the intense final activity on Monday morning, the successful applicants were announced, with the jubilant Australian duo announcing their news via social media.

Wood shone in the final phase of testing, the Race of Champions, with the 22-year-old holding her own against the world’s best up and coming female drivers, claiming a top-five finish.

“So bloody happy to get to the next phase of the W Series,” Wood posted on Facebook.

“Successfully completed all the assessments across the selection program finishing in the top 4 of the Race of Champions. Bring on these F3 cars.

“Big congrats to my fellow Aussie Alexandra Whitley, let’s do this girl.”

As for Whitley, who travelled from New Zealand early last week, one of the longest distances traveled out of the 54 competitors, it was an experience she’ll never forget.

“This week has been the experience of a lifetime, truly exceptional in so many ways,” Whitley posted.

“I am proud to say I have made the cut and will test an F3 with HiTech Motorsport along side 28 other girls in Spain in March.

“Words don’t describe how we are feeling.

“I cannot thank the W Series team enough for the opportunity they have given us.”

The second and final stage will be a four-day test in the W Series Tatuus F318 Formula 3 which will see 18 girls selected from the 28 shortlisted, with the historic series to begin in May.

Click here to view the full list of successful candidates.