Formula 4 On Course In Sydney

Round Two of the 2019 CAMS PAYCE Australian Formula 4 Championship begins this Friday at Sydney Motorsport Park as part of the Shannons Nationals weekend.

After a two month gap between Sydney and the season opening round in Melbourne at the Australian Grand Prix, the season is back in earnest with only a couple of months remaining before the season finale at The Bend.

Grand Prix round winner Luis Leeds and AGI Sport are atop the championship standings heading into Sydney Motorsport Park, with the circuit being Leeds’ first Australian Formula 4 win back in 2016.

Leeds will be leaning on teammate Antonio Astuti, though the young Victorian has his own championship aspirations by being only 12 points off Leeds.

Team BRM teammates Ryan Suhle and Lochie Hughes are level on points, and eight points adrift of Leeds – with a maximum of 75 points on offer for this weekend’s round winner.

Keeping race fit between the Grand Prix break is fellow Team BRM pilot Tommy Smith, who has been competing in the Asia F3 Championship.

Patrizicorse’s Jackson Walls will be eager to put a difficult Grand Prix weekend behind him and rebound at Sydney, where he last snared a podium in 2018’s Race Two.

Burson Auto Parts Rookie in Melbourne, Emerson Harvey, will continue his partnership with Team BRM as he makes the transition from karts to circuit racing in 2019. It was a clean showing for the young Victorian last time out at Albert Park, in what was his first car race.

Earlier this week, the Confederation of Australian Motor Sport (CAMS) confirmed a partnership with the Motorsport Safety and Rescue (MSR) Group to manage the at-event support and recruitment of teams and drivers to the championship in 2019 and beyond.

More information about the partnership can be found here.

There’s plenty of attention on the newly launched TCR Australia Series this weekend too in Sydney Motorsport Park, with 2016 Australian Formula 4 Champion Will Brown set to take part aboard a Hyundai i20 N TCR with HMO Customer Racing. Fellow graduate from 2015 Jimmy Vernon will also line-up in the striking Alfa Romeo Giulietta for Garry Rogers Motorsport.

Live and free coverage of Formula 4 will be available via the Shannons Nationals on, with the battle for Castrol Pole Position and all three races to be streamed online from Saturday 18 May.

Championship Points
1. Luis Leeds (AGI Sport): 45
2. Ryan Suhle (Team BRM): 37
3. Lochie Hughes (Team BRM): 37
4. Jayden Ojeda (AGI Sport): 35
5. Antonio Astuti (AGI Sport): 33
6. Taylor Cockerton (MTEC Motorsport): 31
7. Ryan Yardley (MTEC Motorsport): 27
8. Jackson Burton (AGI Sport): 19
9. Tommy Smith (Team BRM): 18
10. Jackson Walls (Patrizicorse): 9
11. Josh Smith (AGI Sport): 6
12. Dylan Thomas (Tank Motorsport): 6

Session Times
Practice One: Friday 17 May – 10:40am
Practice Two: Friday 17 May – 3:15pm
Castrol Pole Position: Saturday 18 May – 10:10am
Race One: Saturday 18 May – 1:10pm
Race Two: Sunday 19 May – 12:20pm
Race Three: Sunday 19 May – 3:55pm