Double Time at Phillip Island

The 2019 CAMS PAYCE Australian Formula 4 Championship will fast-track its season, with two rounds over six races to be contested at the legendary Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit this weekend.

In what will be third double-round contested in the championship’s history, it is the first time the popular format will be contested at the equally popular Victorian venue.

AGI Sport dominated Formula 4’s last visit to ‘The Island’, with eventual 2018 champion Jayden Ojeda claiming a clean sweep of Castrol Pole Position and all three race wins. Current championship front-runner Luis Leeds will be eager to add Phillip Island victories to his growing CV and points lead, with a maximum 150 points on offer for this weekend’s victor.

The Sydney squad lead the Castrol Pole Position tally with two poles claimed by past champions Ojeda and Nick Rowe, though it’s their South Australian rivals Team BRM who have dominated the venue since its first visit in 2015 with seven out of 12 race wins.

Ojeda was the first to win at Phillip Island for AGI Sport last year, with Team BRM’s victorious roll call including the likes of Will Brown, Jordan Love, Jordan Lloyd and Simon Fallon.

AGI Sport have dominated the 2019 championship’s first six races of the season, and head to Phillip Island as clear favourites with Leeds and Antonio Astuti atop of the championship standings. Leeds holds a race winning margin of 25 points over teammate Astuti, and is the only driver to have broken the triple-digit barrier this season with 110 points to his name.

New South Welshman Christian Mansell will this weekend join AGI Sport’s line-up for his first Australian Formula 4 race weekend, having spent most of the last several months testing with the team.

Team BRM also arrive armed with a team favourite in Harry Hayek, who makes his competitive return to racing after a season on the sidelines after recovering from a freak accident competing overseas in 2017.

A solitary practice session on Friday will prepare crews ahead of a double battle for Castrol Pole Position honours for rounds three and four.

Races Three to Six will be live streamed for free on as part of the Shannons Nationals broadcast.

Weekend Schedule
Practice One: Friday – 10:30am (30 minutes)
Castrol Pole Position Round 3: Friday – 1:10pm (20 minutes)
Castrol Pole Position Round 4: Friday – 1:35pm (20 minutes)
Race One (R3): Friday – 3:40pm (20 minutes)
Race Two (R3): Saturday – 9:10am (20 minutes)
Race Three (R3): Saturday – 11:00am (20 minutes)
Race Four (R4): Saturday – 1:35pm (20 minutes)
Race Five (R4): Saturday – 4:25pm (20 minutes)
Race Six (R4): Sunday – 3:10pm (20 minutes)

Friday 7 June: Min 7 / Max 15 – Partly cloudy
Saturday 8 June: Min 7 / Max 16 – Mostly sunny
Sunday 9 June: Min 9 / Max 17 – Shower or two

Phillip Island Statistics
Driver pole positions: Jayden Ojeda (2018), Ryan Suhle (2017), Nick Rowe (2016), Jordan Lloyd (2015)
Pole positions by team: AGI Sport (2), Zagame Autosport (1), Team BRM (1)
Driver race wins: Jayden Ojeda (3), Jordan Lloyd (3), Jordan Love (2), Will Brown (1), Ryan Suhle (1), Tyler Everingham (1), Simon Fallon (1)
Team race wins: Team BRM (7), AGI Sport (3), Zagame Autosport (2)
Driver round wins: Jayden Ojeda (2018), Simon Fallon (2017), Jordan Love (2016), Jordan Lloyd (2015)
Team round wins: AGI Sport (1), Team BRM (3)

Championship Points
1. Luis Leeds: 110
2. Antonio Astuti: 85
3. Lochie Hughes: 73
4. Ryan Suhle: 70
5. Tommy Smith: 44
6. Jayden Ojeda: 35
7. Jackson Walls: 31
8. Taylor Cockerton: 31
9. Ryan Yardley: 27
10. Emerson Harvey: 26
11. Jackson Burton: 19
12. Josh Smith: 6
13. Dylan Thomas: 6