Hughes adds The Bend to his career wins

After claiming Castrol Pole Position for Friday’s opening race, Lochie Hughes has backed it up with victory in Race Two at The Bend Motorsport Park.

Friday’s wet weather continued into Saturday morning’s race, with Hughes starting from the front row alongside Emerson Harvey. Hughes rocketed into the lead at the race start, with Harvey dropping back to last.

Ryan Suhle capitalised on Harvey’s start to climb to second place, where he and Hughes maintained a one second gap throughout the eight-lap race.

Friday’s opening winner Luis Leeds started from the rear with the reverse grid race, where he faced a hard-fought battle for the final podium place alongside Patrizicorse’s Jackson Walls.

The Patrizicorse driver defended brilliantly against the championship leader, only relinquishing third after pressure from Leeds and Antonio Astuti in the final laps of the race.

After swapping fastest laps between each other, Hughes prevailed to add Winton, Phillip Island and The Bend to his list of victorious circuits.

The third and final race for Round Five will take place on Saturday from 12:45pm ACST, streaming live at

Round six’s races will commence from 9:40am ACST on Sunday.

Provisional Race Two Results (Round Five)
1. Lochie Hughes (BRM)
2. Ryan Suhle (BRM) +0.2604
3. Luis Leeds (AGI) +8.3645
4. Antonio Astuti (AGI) +8.7250
5. Jackson Walls (Patrizicorse) +12.1665
6. Tommy Smith (BRM) +13.6915
7. Emerson Harvey (BRM) +21.9886

Round Five Points (after Race Two)
1. Luis Leeds: 40
2. Lochie Hughes: 37
3. Ryan Suhle: 36
4. Antonio Astuti: 27
5. Jackson Walls: 18
6. Emerson Harvey: 16
7. Tommy Smith: 14

Provisional Championship Points (after Race Two/Round Five)
1. Luis Leeds: 282
2. Ryan Suhle: 201
3. Lochie Hughes: 190
4. Antonio Astuti: 170
5. Jackson Walls: 102
6. Emerson Harvey: 88
7. Tommy Smith: 80
8. Harry Hayek: 66
9. Jayden Ojeda: 35
10. Taylor Cockerton: 31
11. Ryan Yardley: 27
12. Jackson Burton: 19
13. Josh Smith: 6
14. Dylan Thomas: 6