Lights to flag for Lloyd in Race 1

Team BRM’s Jordan Lloyd has won a lights to flag run to claim his tenth win in an action filled Race 1 for the CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship at Phillip Island

Lloyd’s teammate and Phillip Island rookie Zane Goddard, who started alongside the championship leader in second position, was deemed to have jumped the start and handed with a five second post-race penalty.

Despite the jump start, Goddard continued to entertain as he engaged in thrilling battles with the likes of Thomas Randle, Tom Grech, and Jimmy Vernon. However, lock ups late in the race at MG and Honda corners saw the Gold Coast 16-year-old cross the line in sixth.

Frankie Maiolo benefitted from Goddard’s penalty to be promoted into sixth place.

Brown benefited from a clean race, making decisive moves to ultimately finish in second position after starting from fourth aboard his Cars Galore AGI Sport car.

Thomas Randle, despite making an early pass on Goddard, managed a hard fought third place. Randle’s wealth of experience around Phillip Island assisted him to hold off the advances of Team BRM and AGI Sport cars around him.

Fellow DREAM Motorsport pilot Luis Leeds endured a tough race after stalling on the grid. Some spirited battles saw the recent Mexican F4 round winner climb up the order. A side-by-side pass on Frankie Maiolo into Turn 1 being a particular highlight.

However, a spectacular off at Turn 1 on Lap 10 whilst in the draft of Harry Hayek saw Leeds’ sidepod fill with polystyrene signage. Leeds then had to pit to clear debris out of his car a few laps later.

Despite a brand new car for Tom Grech, bad luck continued to follow him after another impressive display in the IQ Option AGI Sport machine. A likely second place was ultimately scuppered after a fuel surge issue dropped the 23-year-old back to ninth in the final standings.

Harry Hayek had an equally impressive run to finish in fourth, with Team Toolforce Racing pilot Jimmy Vernon making the top five after a spectacular battle between he and Goddard.

Caitlin Wood, making her Formula 4 return in the Jayco Dealer Team car with DREAM Motorsport, completed the race in eighth position ahead of Grech and Leeds.

Race 2 for the CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship will commence at 2:00pm AEDST on Fox Sports 5, live timing at and on Twitter via #F4AU and @Formula4AU.

Provisional Race 1 Results

Jordan Lloyd 1:34.8075
Will Brown +8.0274
Thomas Randle +9.4763
Harry Hayek +10.6424
Jimmy Vernon +12.1288
Zane Goddard* +15.1769
Frankie Maiolo +18.4084
Caitlin Wood +29.4669
Tom Grech +38.1098
Luis Leeds +1 Lap

*Five second penalty added to final race time