Australian Formula 4 Proud Of Its First Graduates

CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship Category Manager Cameron McConville has expressed his delight at seeing five drivers from the 2015 championship make the move overseas.

The championship featured a mix of drivers straight out of karting and other forms of open-wheel racing in 2015, competitive racing showcased the talents of the next generation of Australian motor racing.

“It is unprecedented to have four drivers from the one category, and five in total, from Australia graduate to European racing in the same year,” McConville said.

“To me, it is clear that we have a strong pool of young karters coming through and the new FIA F4 formula has ticked the box.”

Victorian driver Luis Leeds was the first of the 2015 group to confirm their 2016 plans, with the spectacular move to the United Kingdom’s MSA Formula under the guidance of the Red Bull Junior Team.

Leeds’ teammate at DREAM Motorsport Thomas Randle also confirmed a move to the UK this week, racing in the BRDC Formula 4 Championship for Douglas Motorsport.

Team BRM colleagues Zane Goddard and Harry Hayek have also confirmed programmes in the MSA Formula, with Double R Racing and Jamun Racing respectively.

Jordan Lloyd, after participating in a European Formula 3 test with Carlin Motorsport as reward for claiming the Australian Formula 4 championship, makes the move to the United States to compete in USF2000 as he aspires for a career in IndyCar.

Whilst five Australian Formula 4 racers from 2015 move on to chase their international dreams, McConville is excited to find the next group of stars in 2016.

“Finally we have a class of racing that prepares drivers to hit the ground running on the international stage,” McConville said.

“Whilst it’s sad we lose them, there will be some late nights for all of us watching their results on live timing and the web this year.”