CAMS Invests In Young Australian Racers

The Confederation of Australian Motor Sport (CAMS) has continued its commitment to developing young Australian racing talent, announcing up to ten $50,000 scholarships for Formula 4 competitors for 2016.

CAMS Chief Executive Officer Eugene Arocca said CAMS’ investment in the junior pathway via Formula 4 will be part of a continuing and stronger focus by CAMS on junior development of talent in Australia.

“Investing in our future champions is a responsibility that CAMS takes very seriously,” said Arocca.

“The 2015 Formula 4 season was an unprecedented success in terms of driver development, launching five young Australian racers onto the international motor sport scene in just one year.

“Apart from the state of the art safety features of these cars, Formula 4 has created an historic outcome in our first year, supporting young Australian drivers striving for international success.

“This success, along with the strong financial position of the organisation, has allowed CAMS to do more for young driver development in Australia.”

Arocca said the scholarship program had been well received by the Formula 4 teams, who had been in discussions with a number of drivers for the 2016 championship.

“CAMS recognises the importance of the Formula 4 teams in the role of driver development, which is why we are working with the current Formula 4 teams to award the ten scholarships,” Arocca said.

“They are very positive about the scholarship program; they were able to confirm a number of drivers for 2016 within the first 48 hours and we expect more drivers to commit in the near future.

“The current Formula 4 teams have shown great support for the category and already have a strong pool of drivers to select from; these guys are best placed to select those that have the talent to go all the way in national and international competition.”

The scholarships do not come without conditions; drivers must be aged 21 or under at the commencement of the competition year, and must commit to a financial return to CAMS over their professional racing career.

The inaugural Formula 4 Championship in 2015 has been responsible for launching no less than five drivers onto the international motor sport scene: Luis Leeds, Harry Hayek and Zane Goddard will compete in the 2016 British MSA Formula, Thomas Randle in the BRDC Formula 4 in the UK and Jordan Lloyd in the USF2000 Series.