U Race It Pole Position: Harry Hayek

Team BRM’s Harry Hayek has claimed his first U Race It Pole Position during today’s CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship qualifying session today at Queensland Raceway.

Having recently returned from a stint in British F4, Hayek recently confirmed his plans to race in Australia for the remainder of the year with Team BRM after an impressive showing in the previous round at Sydney Motorsport Park.

“Yeah I’m ecstatic with that,” Hayek said.

“First U Race It Pole Position, it feels really good. Really happy with it. The times are really close. I just managed to put a really good lap together and get my first pole, it’s really good!”


AGI Sport/SCT Logistics pilot Nick Rowe was the fastest driver for much of the first half of the twenty minute session, however was edged out by his close friend Hayek by just 0.1783 seconds.

“I was two-thousandths down there in the middle, I knew I didn’t have anything else left,” Rowe said.

“It was good racing out there, hard work. I saw (Hayek) have a loop, which was pretty funny!”


Championship leader Will Brown was third, after initially being the fastest driver during the morning’s opening practice session.

“It was pretty close between me and Rowie,” Brown said.

“Harry just blew us out of the water, as he does! We wish he’d stayed in England! It’ll be good racing tomorrow, looking forward to it.”


With two races to come tomorrow, Hayek will be eager to capitalise on his pole position and get a good start off the line.

“Something in my blood is that I love just to rev it up, left foot slip and there goes the burnout! I think I did a bit too much of that at Eastern Creek,” Hayek said.

“So I need to have more discipline and get a good start.”

U Race It Pole Position – Qualifying Results

Pos. No. Driver Team Time Gap
1 26 Harry Hayek Team BRM 1:13.0853
2 97 Nick Rowe AGI Sport 1:13.2636 0.1783
3 99 Will Brown Team BRM 1:13.3182 0.2329
4 79 Jordan Love Team BRM 1:13.4477 0.3624
5 68 Jack Smith AGI Sport 1:13.6628 0.5775
6 27 Simon Fallon DREAM 1:13.8228 0.7375
7 91 Josh Denton Team BRM 1:13.8831 0.7978
8 7 Tyler Everingham JRD 1:13.9570 0.8717
9 51 Josh Conroy DREAM 1:14.1524 1.0671
10 23 Brenton Grove Team BRM 1:15.0236 1.9383

Race One for the CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship gets underway from 11:20am Saturday morning, with Race Two at 2:40pm. 

All sessions will be televised on Fox Sports 5 (506) as part of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship support races.