Hayek Shines With First Race Victory

After claiming his first U Race It Pole Position yesterday, Team BRM’s Harry Hayek has broken through to claim his first CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship race win at Queensland Raceway.

Hayek made a superb getaway off the start line ahead of fellow front row starter Nick Rowe, to eventually finish 1.2 seconds ahead of the AGI Sport pilot.

“Let’s just say I thought that RX8…driving that thing was good but that was unbelievable!” Hayek enthused.

“That’s the best feeling I’ve ever had in…I’m speechless.”


Rowe was content with second place and clinching more crucial championship points, but was ecstatic for his friend Hayek to claim his first Australian Formula 4 race win.

“So happy for this bloke,” Rowe said.

“I just couldn’t beat him. He was quick enough to win, he didn’t put foot wrong and that was that. So happy for you bro, well done.”


Team BRM’s Jordan Love also gathered much needed championship points to come away with third place in Race One, but a Safety Car interruption and the fast nature of the circuit made it difficult to make an overtaking move stick.

“Managed to get a good start so I was happy with that,” Love said.

“It was a bit challenging to pass, and I didn’t get past Rowie in the end but I’m happy to come away with third.

“There’s still two more races to go, we’ll make a few changes in me and the car and we’ll see how we go in Race Two.”


Championship leader Will Brown held on to fourth place after a dice with Jordan Love at the race start, which saw Brown drop to fourth after initially starting from third on the grid.

“Pretty exciting race, but didn’t have the pace,” Brown said.

“Ended up P4 but we’ll work towards it next race and we’re starting off 2nd because of the reverse grid (Top 5), and if we get a good start in front that’ll be good.


Josh Conroy brought out the sole Safety Car interruption after launching his DREAM Motorsport machine over the front tyre of Josh Denton’s Team BRM, and being beached in the gravel trap.

Team BRM’s Brenton Grove failed to make the start after a rear suspension failure prior to the start of the formation lap.

Factoring in the reverse top five results, AGI Sport’s Jack Smith will start this afternoon’s Race Two from pole position alongside championship leader Brown – with Love, Rowe and Hayek placing third, fourth and fifth on the grid respectively.

Race One Results

Pos. No. Driver Team Best Time Gap
1 26 Harry Hayek Team BRM 1:13.4598
2 97 Nick Rowe AGI Sport 1:13.7170 1.2853
3 79 Jordan Love Team BRM 1:13.6693 1.5803
4 99 Will Brown Team BRM 1:13.6850 2.2892
5 68 Jack Smith AGI Sport 1:14.1798 5.7797
6 7 Tyler Everingham JRD 1:14.3781 7.7190
7 27 Simon Fallon DREAM 1:14.4545 8.4040
8 91 Josh Denton Team BRM 1:14.1463 10.9272
DNF 51 Josh Conroy DREAM
DNF 23 Brenton Grove Team BRM