Formula 4 Racers Take To The Mountain

2016 CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Champion Will Brown, Runner-Up Nick Rowe and Jack Smith will be reunited as teammates in the 2017 Bathurst 12 Hour.

Racing for MARC Cars Australia in the Invitational class, Brown will be teamed up Keith Kassulke and two-time Bathurst 12 Hour winner Rod Salmon in the #91 MARC V8.

“After being given the opportunity for my first taste of Bathurst earlier this year in the Toyota 86 Series, I am looking forward to hitting the mountain in a more powerful car,” Brown said.

“The Bathurst 12 Hour will be great preparation for either Carrera Cup or Dunlop Series, which is what I am hoping to do this year. My ambitions are to one day compete in Supercars and win the championship.”


Rowe, who made his 12 Hour debut in 2016, returns to the MARC squad and will be joined in the #94 car by the highly experienced Leanne Tander, Tim Leahey and Gerard McLeod.

Juggling the Australian GT Trophy Series alongside his Australian Formula 4 programme throughout 2016, Jack Smith will also make his Bathurst 12 Hour debut with Jake Camilleri and Rob Thompson in the #93 MARC entry.

“I’m really excited about getting back in the MARC Car and get 2017 rolling competing in the 12 Hour with Jake and Rob,” Smith said.

Smith’s 12 Hour debut also comes off the back of a Supercars test with Brad Jones Racing in December and his Dunlop Series debut at the 2016 Bathurst 1000 weekend.

“We competed in the MARC division in the Australian GT Trophy Series for the majority of last year and really enjoyed it.

“It’s a great car to drive although a fair bit different to an F4 car! It’ll also be awesome to mix it up with the F4 boys Nick and Will.”

The Bathurst 12 Hour will take place on February 3–5, with 61 contenders from Australia and overseas entered for the event.