It all starts here

The world of single seater racing has undergone an exciting and radical shift with the introduction of the CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship.

Along with the FIA, CAMS has chosen Formula 4 as the pathway for open wheel racing, bridging the gap between karting, Formula 3 and Formula 1.

The new category focusses on driver development rather than car development and is both nationally and internationally relevant and integrate with the CAMS Driver Development program including the CAMS Academy.

Drivers must be at least 15 years old.

The over-arching aim of this category is to unearth the next generations of Australian Drivers who will make it to the world stage.

What is Formula 4?

It is a developmental single seater opener wheel racing category for young drivers who are serious about a pathway to the top of motor sport.

It is based on the new FIA international regulations for Formula 4 with a focus on keeping costs down and guaranteeing the highest possible safety standards.

It’s built on four cornerstones: technical regulations, organisational standards, sporting regulations and marketing and communications.

The Formula 4 Prize

What will the Championship winner receive?

The winning driver will receive the CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship trophy and up to $250,000 in financial support that will assist in the progression to the next appropriate development pathway for that driver.

It’s a prize called the Jayco ‘Road to the World’.

The CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship drivers’ title will be awarded to the driver who has scored the highest number of points at season’s end with the Championship winner to formally accept the award and prize at the annual CAMS Awards night, at which all CAMS national champions are recognised.

The second, third and fourth placed drivers in the CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship will also be supported through the opportunity to take up an official test with a V8 Supercar Development Series team.

Formula 4: FIA’s global pathway

The first step on the ladder from Karting to Formula One, Formula 4 has become an integral part of the single seater pyramid as defined by the FIA


FIA Formula 4 Championships across the World


Race Format

In order to maximise track time during race weekends and to highlight the performances of the best drivers, use of a sporting formula inspired by the FIA Formula 3 European Championship is being used for Formula 4.

Race weekend will take this format:

Day 1 Free practice 1, Free practice 2A
Day 2 Qualifying, Race 1
Day 3 Race 2, Race 3

How will starting grids be determined?

Race 1 Fastest qualifying times set in Q1
Race 2 Reverse grid with first ten drivers from Race 1
Race 3 Second fastest qualifying times set in Q1

What about championship point scoring… what’s the formula?

It will be based on the FIA international championships scale:
25, 18, 15, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2 and 1 point for the ten first drivers of each race.
5 bonus points for the best qualifying time.
1 bonus point for the fastest lap time in each race

The Car


Technical specifications

CHASSIS: FIA homologated Carbon Monocoque ENGINE:
Up to 2L
160 bhp
Life of engine – 10,000 km
TRANSMISSION: 6-speed sequential gearbox with paddle shift + reverse gear
BRAKES: Twin pot callipers
FRONT AND REAR SUSPENSION: Double wishbones and pushrods, twin dampers, adjustable anti-roll bar
PARTS: All parts must be homologated and supplied by the official supplier at each round of the championship
Parts will be available for purchase from the supplier at each championship venue and must be used exactly as supplied
DIMENSIONS: 3350 x 1750 x 950mm
SAFETY: FIA standards (front and rear impact absorbing structures, anti-intrusion side panels, roll bars, removable seat, wheel restraint cables, on-board fire extinguisher, retractable steering column)
OPTIONS: Data acquisition

Television Coverage

The championship will received significant television coverage as part of the 2015 V8 Supercars coverage on Channel 10 and Foxtel.

July 10-12 Townsville 500 – Reid Park (Live on TEN, simulcast on FOX SPORTS)
July 31-Aug 2 Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint – Queensland Raceway (Live on FOX SPORTS)
Aug 21-23 Sydney Motorsport Park SuperSprint – Sydney Motorsport Park (Live on FOX SPORTS)
Sep 11- 13 Wilson Security Sandown 500 – Sandown Raceway (Live on TEN, simulcast on FOX SPORTS)
Oct 23-25 Gold Coast 600 – Surfers Paradise (Live on TEN, simulcast on FOX SPORTS)
Nov 20-22 Phillip Island SuperSprint – Phillip Island (Live on FOX SPORTS)
Dec 4-6 Sydney 500 – Sydney Olympic Park (Live on TEN, simulcast on FOX SPORTS)