About Formula 4

2019 Information Document

Discovering Tomorrow’s Talents

The CAMS Australian Formula 4 Championship arrived in Australia 2015.

Formula 4 has been developed and certified by the FIA as the pre-eminent open-wheel development category across the globe; the critical step between elite junior karting, Formula 3 and ultimately Formula 1. The over-arching aim of this category is to unearth the next generation of Australian drivers who will make it to the world stage.




What is Formula 4?

It is a developmental single seater open-wheel racing category for young drivers who are serious about a pathway to the top of motor sport. It is based on the new FIA international regulations for Formula 4 with a focus on keeping costs down and guaranteeing the highest possible safety standards. It’s built on four cornerstones: technical regulations, organisational standards, sporting regulations, and marketing and communications.

Rookies Award

Rookies will be in contention for the Burson Auto Parts Rookie of the Year at the end of the season, with individual round winners to receive a Burson Auto Parts Rookie of The Round plate. The Burson Auto Parts Rookie award is open to drivers under the age of 18, as of Round 1 of the championship, who have competed in no more than three national series or championship circuit racing events in their racing career so far. Burson Auto Parts is Australia’s trade specialist supplier of automotive aftermarket parts, accessories and workshop equipment.

Formula 4: FIA’s global pathway

The first step on the ladder from Karting to Formula One, Formula 4 has become an integral part of the single seater pyramid as defined by the FIA.

Race Format

In order to maximise track time during race weekends and to highlight the performances of the best drivers, use of a sporting formula inspired by the FIA Formula 3 European Championship is being used for Formula 4.

Race weekend will take this format:

DAY 1 Free Practice 1, Free Practice 2
DAY 2 Qualifying, Race 1
DAY 3 Race 2, Race 3

How will starting grids be determined?

Race 1 Fastest qualifying times set in Q1
Race 2 Reverse grid with first ten drivers from Race 1
Race 3 Second fastest qualifying times set in Q1

What about championship point scoring… what’s the formula?

It will be based on the FIA international championships scale:
25, 18, 15, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2 and 1 point for the ten first drivers of each race.

The Car